Nice cream

This has nothing to do with Japan in particular, except in relation to the super-humid weather. But anyway, I finally tried making “nice cream”, that is, an ice cream-like substance made from just bananas.

I followed the basic instructions from Oh My Veggies. Essentially, you blend frozen bananas until they get creamy. I used a regular blender, which took awhile; I reckon a food processor might be easier, at least to get it started. I added just a bit of unsweetened cocoa powder and cinnamon. It came out very lovely, although maybe a bit too sweet. Next time, I plan to try adding a bit of 飲むおから (nomu okara) or smooth okara for cooking / drinking. Okara is a powdery by-product of tofu-making, and it’s delicious. I’m hoping it will make the nice cream a bit creamier and less sweet. We’ll see!

 

Leave a Reply

